The HECAM Project

HepatoCellullary Carcinoma (HCC)

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), or hepatocarcinoma, is the most common form of primary liver cancer, accounting for more than 91% of these types of cancer. Its prevalence places it in men and women at the 5th and 7th rank of the most widespread cancers worldwide. In 2011, the global annual incidence was around 750,000 new cases per year, of which, according to Datamonitor, about 89,100 new cases in the 7 major pharmaceutical markets (USA, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, UK, and Japan).

In France, 7000 to 8000 new cases are diagnosed each year. It has been estimated that over the period 2010 - 2020, the annual increase in diagnosed HCC is 3%. The incidence is likely to continue to increase due to the emergence of obesity and metabolic syndrome (for example).

750 000 new cases per year, 695 000 deaths annually

HCC is often based on pre-existing liver diseases, and very rarely on a healthy liver. It consists of a cirrhosis in more than 90% of cases and is more rarely a non-cirrhotic chronic liver disease. The etiology of cirrhosis (and therefore HCC) consists of viral infections (chronic hepatitis B or C), metabolic diseases (obesity, diabetes), or linked to food carcinogens in Southeast Asia and sub-Saharan Africa, alcohol consumption and hemochromatosis.    

In developing countries, the incidence of the disease has risen sharply over the last 20 years due to the progression of viral infections by hepatitis B or hepatitis C viruses. In Europe and North America, the progression was mainly impacted by the sharp increase in metabolic diseases (non-alcoholic steatopathy) which could constitute tomorrow the main etiology of HCC.     

Despite its strong progress, the medical management of HCC presents many medical needs yet to be satisfied, from its early detection, its diagnosis, to its treatment :

  • Since HCC is asymptomatic in its initial phase, a large majority (about 70% of patients) are lately diagnosed, in an intermediate or advanced state of the disease, making them ineligible for curative treatment (i.e., surgical resection, ablation, radiofrequency approach or transplantation, or any other approach that provides 60-75% survival of 5 years) ;
  • Endovascular treatments, such as selective chemoembolization, for patients whose tumor is unresectable, offer a survival benefit of only 2 years compared to compassionate treatmentl ;
  • Traditional chemotherapies (doxorubicin, paclitaxel, capecitabine, gemcitabine ...), administered as monotherapy or dual therapy, have a 26% responder rate without the improvement in overall survival for patients with advanced disease (2.8 to 12 months) ;
  • Nexavar® (sorafenib, Bayer), a protein kinase inhibitor licensed for use in 2006, is the only treatment approved for the management of advanced HCC. It offers a survival benefit of 1.5 months without relapse and a prolonged overall survival of 2.3 months.

The HECAM project

The ambition of the HECAM Consortium is to collaborate on the development of new tools for screening, diagnosis and treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), a primary cancer of the liver. The HECAM project is led by GE Healthcare, in partnership with 8 other manufacturers: Guerbet, Biopredictive, BioSIMS, CarThera, EDAP-TMS, Fluoptics, Integragen and Intrasense, as well as 3 clinical and research institutions: the AP-HP (Beaujon Hospitals, Jean Verdier, Henri Mondor and Paul Brousse), Gustave Roussy Cancer Campus, and the INSERM (UMR: U674, U773, U785, U970 and U1032).

The project, with a budget of 34M€ has been accepted in the PSPC call for proposals within the framework of the “Investissement d’avenir (PIA)” and financed by Bpifrance at the rate of 18M€. With a duration of 5 years, the project is structured in 3 work packages :

  1. Monitoring the population at risk ;
  2. Diagnosis and follow-up of therapeutic response ;
  3. Targeted therapies.

The aim is to combine the skills, know-how, experience and equipment of the industry’s giants, as well as the academics in the sector in order to consider HCC entirety (detection, characterization and treatment) and improve the treatment of affected patients or patients at risk at each stage of the disease.     

The following new solutions are expected to reach the market in a horizon of 3 to 7 years :

  • Risk scores and predisposition biomarkers ;
  • Early biomarkers ;
  • Multi-parameter characterization tools in imaging ;
  • Targeted therapy agents and technologies ;
  • Guiding imaging of the therapeutic gesture.

Recent Careers

No job offers available.

Partners

Inserm
Assistance Publique
Carthera
GE
Fluoptics
EDAP TMS
Integragen
Bio Predictive
Guerbet
Intrasense
Gustave Roussy

Le Projet HECAM

Le Carcinome HepatoCellullaire (CHC)

Le carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC), ou hépatocarcinome, est la forme de cancer primitif du foie la plus fréquente, comptant pour plus de 91% de l’ensemble de ces cancers. Sa prévalence le place respectivement chez l’homme et la femme au 5ème et 7ème rang des cancers les plus répandus dans le monde entier. En 2011, l'incidence annuelle mondiale se situait autour de 750 000 nouveaux cas apr an dont, selon Datamonitor, environ 89 100 nouveaux cas sur les 7 principaux marchés pharmaceutiques (USA, France, Allemagne, Italie, Espagne, UK, et Japon).

En France, 7000 à 8000 nouveaux cas sont diagnostiqués chaque année. Il a été estimé que, sur la période 2010 - 2020, la progression du nombre annuel de CHC diagnostiqué est de 3%. L’incidence va probablement continuer d’augmenter en raison de l’émergence notamment de l’obésité et du syndrome métabolique.

Le CHC se développe presque toujours sur une maladie hépatique préexistante et, exceptionnellement, sur un foie sain : il s’agit d’une cirrhose dans plus de 90 % des cas et plus rarement une hépatopathie chronique non cirrhotique. L’étiologie de la cirrhose (et donc du CHC) se compose des infections virales (hépatite B ou C chronique), des maladies métaboliques (obésité, diabète), ou liées aux carcinogènes alimentaires en Asie du Sud-Est et en Afrique Subsaharienne, de l’alcool et des hémochromatoses.

Il est à noter dans les pays en développement une forte évolution de l’incidence de la maladie ces vingt dernières années en raison de la progression des infections virales par les virus de l’hépatite B ou de l'hépatite C. Au contraire, en Europe et Amérique du Nord, la progression a été principalement impactée par la forte augmentation des maladies métaboliques (stéatopathie non alcoolique) qui pourraient constituer demain la principale étiologie du CHC.

Malgré sa forte progression, la prise en charge médicale du CHC présente de nombreux besoins médicaux encore à satisfaire depuis sa détection précoce, son diagnostic et jusqu’à son traitement :

  • Le CHC étant asymptomatique dans sa phase initiale, une grande majorité (70% des patients environ) est diagnostiquée1 tardivement à un état intermédiaire ou avancé de la maladie les rendant inéligibles aux traitements curatifs : la résection chirurgicale, l’ablation (par exemple l’approche par radiofréquence) ou la transplantation, approches qui offrent une survie globale comprise entre 60 et 75% à 5 ans ;
  • Les traitements endovasculaires comme la chimio-embolisation sélective, qui s’adresse aux patients dont la tumeur n’est pas résécable, offre un gain de survie limité à 2 ans comparativement au traitement compassionnel ;
  • Les chimiothérapies traditionnelles (doxorubicine, paclitaxel, capécitabine, gemcitabine…), administrées en monothérapie ou en bithérapie, présentent un taux de patients répondeurs de 26% sans amélioration de la survie globale pour les patients à un stade avancé (de 2,8 à 12 mois), ;
  • Nexavar® (sorafénib, Bayer), un inhibiteur de protéines-kinases ayant obtenu l’autorisation de mise sur le marché en 2006, est le seul traitement approuvé dans la prise en charge du CHC avancé. Il offre un gain de survie de 1,5 mois sans rechute et une survie globale prolongée de 2,3 mois.

Le projet HECAM

L’ambition du Consortium HECAM est de collaborer au développement de nouveaux outils de dépistage, diagnostic et traitement du carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC), cancer primitif du foie. Le projet HECAM est conduit par GE Healthcare, en partenariat avec 8 autres industriels : Guerbet, à l’initiative du projet, Biopredictive, BioSIMS, CarThera, EDAP-TMS, Fluoptics, Integragen et Intrasense, ainsi que 3 institutions cliniques et de recherche : l’AP-HP (hôpitaux Beaujon, Jean Verdier, Henri Mondor et Paul Brousse), Gustave Roussy Cancer Campus, et l’INSERM (UMR : U674, U773, U785, U970 et U1032).

Le projet, d’un budget de 34M€ a été retenu à l’appel à projets structurants pour la compétitivité (PSPC) dans le cadre du programme d’investissement d’avenir (PIA) et financé à hauteur de 18M€ par Bpifrance. D’une durée de 5 ans, le projet est structuré en 3 lots de travaux :

  1. Suivi de la population à risque ;
  2. Diagnostic et suivi de réponse thérapeutique ;
  3. Thérapies ciblées.

Le but est d’associer les compétences, le savoir faire, l’expérience et les équipements des industriels et des académiques du secteur afin de considérer le CHC dans sa globalité (détection, caractérisation et traitement) dans le but d’améliorer la prise en charge des patients à risques ou atteints à chaque stade de la maladie.

La mise sur le marché de nouvelles solutions est envisagée à un horizon de 3 à 7 ans :

  • Scores de risque et biomarqueur de prédisposition ;
  • Biomarqueurs précoce ;
  • Outils de caractérisation multiparamétrique en imagerie ;
  • Agents et technologies de thérapie ciblée ;
  • Imagerie de guidage du geste thérapeutique.

Actualités

Radiologie interventionnelle : Guerbet partenaire du projet HECAM

Le projet HECAM est un Projet de recherche et développem ...

Fluoptics retenu dans le cadre du Projet HECAM pour le traitement des cancers du foie

La société Fluoptics, spécialisée dans l'imagerie de ...

Offres d'emplois

Pas d'offre d'emploi disponible.

Partenaires

Inserm
Assistance Publique
Carthera
GE
Fluoptics
EDAP TMS
Integragen
Bio Predictive
Guerbet
Intrasense
Gustave Roussy